Friday, June 3, 2011
Game yesterday is proof of my points....Home Team leads 5-3 top of 7th with visitors having runners on 2nd and 3rd. Ground ball to short, runner on second runs into the SS and knocks him down and ball loose. My partner doesn't make the call...so me, behind the plate, calls time, and rules "Interference" on the runner on 2nd. Calling him out, sending the runner on 3rd who scored, back to that base, and allowing the batter to stay at first...because I didn't think a double play was in order.
I got the call right...made sure of that when I got home and checked out the rules and case book for High School Baseball....I was 99% sure anyway, but wanted to confirm that I had indeed got it correct...That didn't stop the "umpires" along the fence for the visitors or the coaches from disagreeing with me...but I was right, they were wrong, and the game ended on the next play, when the new batter popped up to the second baseman. Gotta Love Summer Baseball!
Back to Crestview tonight, a single game(down from a double header) tomorrow at Coldwater, then a Junior ACME double header on Sunday.
Another Kokomo Vietnam Reunion____
Otherwise I plan on staying busy, even if the storms hit, this weekend....have a good one~
Photo>>>>Big Sam Lewis, Me, and Tom McCandless at the Kokomo Reunion last September.